About the Training Grant

Alcohol Research Training Program

Funded by Grant T32 AA018108 from the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
Katie Witkiewitz, Ph.D., Principal Investigator

Program Overview

Photo by Lisa Hagen Glynn

The Center on Alcohol, Substance use, And Addictions (CASAA) at the University of New Mexico (UNM) is funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) through an Institutional Research Training grant to train pre- and postdoctoral alcohol researchers to study processes of change in alcohol use and alcohol use disorder. The National Institutes of Health (NIH) funds institutional research training grants to develop the next generation of NIH researchers, "...to help ensure that a diverse and highly trained workforce is available to assume leadership roles related to the Nation's biomedical, behavioral and clinical research agenda. The primary objective of the T32 program is to prepare qualified individuals for careers that have a significant impact on the health-related research needs of the Nation."

The UNM CASAA training program is designed to provide multidisciplinary training to prepare future scientists to conduct research to:

  • Elucidate the processes of change in drinking behavior,
  • Develop and test effective methods to effect change through improved approaches to treatment and indicated prevention, and
  • Develop and test models to disseminate knowledge of effective interventions to diverse populations

Sample research areas include: measurement of substance use, factors stimulating change, mechanisms of change, trajectories of change, interventions, risk profiles, individual differences, and dissemination studies.

The grant supports four predoctoral fellows in the UNM Department of Psychology and three postdoctoral fellows who may come from any discipline relevant to the goals of the training program. Fellows work with one or more of the core training faculty: Katie Witkiewitz (PI and training program director, Margo Hurlocker, Theresa Moyers, Matthew Pearson, J. Scott Tonigan, Kamilla Venner.


Training Program Culture and Shared Responsibilities

The training grant is designed to support the next generation of alcohol researchers with shared responsibilities for the following:

  • Co-building a culture of appreciation
  • Realistic workplans and clear guidance, trainees and mentors avoid last minute requests
  • Openness to learning
  • Process and quality goals, no required quantity of productivity
  • Openness to varied ways of meeting training goals, publications are one part
  • Trainees included in decision making and responsibilities of training
  • Recognize different world views and goals
  • Team work, community engaged work, and shared goals


Training Faculty

Core faculty members serve as primary or secondary research mentors for pre- and post-doctoral trainees. Each trainee must have a training grant mentor who is a core faculty member. Predoctoral trainees may have a primary mentor from their academic department and a primary mentor on the training grant. In these cases, the two mentors should work closely to provide a coherent training experience for the predoctoral trainee. Core faculty members include:

Margo Hurlocker, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Psychology

Email: mhurlocker@unm.edu



Theresa Moyers

Associate Professor of Psychology




Katie Witkiewitz, Ph.D.

Regents' Professor of Psychology




Jane Smith, Ph.D.

Professor of Psychology




J. Scott Tonigan, Ph.D.

Research Professor of Psychology




Kamilla Venner, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Psychology




Matthew (Mateo) Pearson, Ph.D.

Research Associate Professor of Psychology




Affiliated faculty members serve as secondary mentors and may serve as members of predoctoral trainees' thesis, comprehensive exam, or dissertation committees. Affiliated faculty members also provide expertise in specific areas and may serve as outside members of predoctoral trainees' committees. Other members of the predoctoral trainee's academic department also will serve on trainees' committees. Affiliated faculty members include:

Caroline Bonham, M.D.

Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences




Lisa Broidy, Ph.D.

Professor of Sociology, University of New Mexico




James Cavanagh, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Psychology, University of New Mexico




Benjamin Clark, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Psychology, University of New Mexico




Brandi Fink, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences




Paul Guerin, Ph.D.

Senior Research Scientist 3, Institute for Social Research




Derek Hamilton, Ph.D.

Professor and Chair of Psychology, University of New Mexico




Jeremy Hogeveen, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Psychology, University of New Mexico




Brady Horn, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Economics, University of New Mexico




Jon Houck, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Mind Research Network




Yu Yu Hsiao, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Individual, Family, and Community Education




Noah Painter-Davis, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Sociology, University of New Mexico




Nathan Pentkowski, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Psychology, University of New Mexico




Daniel Ragan, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Sociology, University of New Mexico




Pilar Sanjuan, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Family and Community Medicine




M. Lee Van Horn, Ph.D.

Professor of Individual, Family, and Community Education




C. Fernando Valenzuela, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor of Neurosciences




Nina Wallerstein, Ph.D.

Professor of Family & Community Medicine





Contact Us

Katies Headshot

Katie Witkiewitz, Ph.D.


Distinguished Professor, Department of Psychology
Director, Center on Alcohol, Substance use, And Addictions
Center on Alcohol, Substance Use, And Addictions (CASAA)

University of New Mexico
Logan Hall, Room 118
MSC 03-2220
Albuquerque, NM 87131

Tel: (505) 585-1686